1 LUNG FOUR YEARS ON – LIVING WITH MESOTHELIOMA!

4 years ago today, 6 days after my 40th birthday I had my life changing/saving Operation with the removal of my left lung, chest lining & part of my diaphragm! This was following diagnosis just a month earlier of Pleural Mesothelioma. Without the operation, I believe I wouldn’t be here to tell my story! 

There are so many fellow Mesothelioma patients we have met, that sadly are now no longer with us and we think of them and their families and friends. Mike whom I met on my Chemo being the most recent, and he and his wife always had time for us both at chemo & check ups, and were so positive. It really continues to hit home how fortunate I am, as I can only think of a small handful of people who are living with this disease longer than 4 years.  I genuinely believe that being diagnosed at early stages, being young, and having the operation & chemo has saved my life, and enabled me to exceed the 12-18 months life expectancy. 

There are so many of you to thank, but a special thank you has to go to the Medical team for keeping me alive and taking the extreme high risk to do the Operation in the first instance!!:
Professor Woodcock (First consultant following symptoms) 
Dr Shah (BiospySurgeon)
Mr Waller & his team (Mesothelioma Surgeon @ Glenfield hospital)
Dr Paul Taylor (Meso Oncologist who is still looking after me today!). 
Mesothelioma UK Nurses – Lorraine & Maireed.

There are many more medical people, and the list could go on. You know who you are and thank you! …..

Special thank you to my wife and kids, who have been my rock. I’m so lucky to have Ali by my side, and words cannot describe how I feel about her. Without her who knows where I would be… 

When I look back at what has happened and what we have achieved since diagnosis, it makes me very proud and grateful to everyone who has helped me along the way. I wouldn’t wish the last 4 years on anyone, however I have learnt so much about myself, and how resilient as individuals we can be. The love and support people have shown me has exceeded well above anything I could have dreamed of – huge thank you to all our friends and family. The incredible generosity of meals, childcare, donations for my bike rides, my actual bike ride buddies & the long hours of training for both 100mile rides, positive people/quotes/messages, listening to us etc etc! There are so many of you all to thank & name personally but I know that without all of this support, I wouldn’t be where I am today. Erin has almost doubled in age since diagnosis & Josh is now 12-how amazing and what a privilege it is to see them grow up.  

No matter what life throws at you, until that last breathe, never give up, keep believing and have faith. 

“Start my doing what’s necessary, then do what’s possible, and suddenly you are doing the impossible” 

Lots of love Dave xx

P.S (Updated 26.11)
I know so many of you have already but if you would like to donate to help find a cure to Mesothelioma  please donate to https://localgiving.org/fundraising/staleyerasemeso/
I’ve set my own fundraising page and Funds raised go directly to a new charity set up by Paul Cook  (Fellow Young Meso Patient) and his wife Jill. 
ERASE MESO OBJECTIVES 
1. Fund scientific research into mesothelioma to help find a cure or at least a way of maintaining this disease.
2. Raise awareness of mesothelioma.

5 thoughts on “1 LUNG FOUR YEARS ON – LIVING WITH MESOTHELIOMA!

  1. It has been an amazing 4 years Dave thanks to your courage and positivity and your support from Alison. Thanks too to all your wonderful supportive family and friends. Its great to read this blog and your thanks especially to all the medical team who continue to support you. Also to know that valuable research is still needed to get rid of this awful cancer. Keep doing what seemed impossible for you are getting very good at that!

    Like

  2. Hi David,
    It has been good to follow your journey ( I can’t always even imagine how difficult it has been for you and the family. )I am so delighted to hear that things are going well for you and we praise God for that. Thank you for the update. I love your thankfulness to everyone and your appreciation of the life you have now despite what you have gone through.
    Bless you and your family,
    Lynne ( nee Oliver if you remember 😊😊)X
    ________________________________

    Like

  3. Dave
    So good to hear from you and pleased that you are doing well.
    You continue to be an inspiration to us all and an example to others
    all the best for Christmas to you and all the family
    Alan and Kath

    Like

  4. I had a partial lung removal lower left side removed plural lining and rebuilt diaphragm that was in September of 2019 still difficult in breathing how long did your recovery take I just started chemo last week thanks for your time
    Paul Johnson

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apologies Paul I have just seen this. How u doing? I was breathless for a while , but I think it’s also impacted with chemo & fitness levels being very low. At times I could just about walk down the drive. However the more exercise I did the more fitness levels improved and so did the breathlessness. Keep going it will improve. Dave

      Like

Leave a comment